About getting out of an abusive relationship. Go read.

Silk Stockings Black Boots

May 5th, 27 years ago my life changed in ways I couldn’t have imagined.  The path it had taken up to that point was almost picture perfect.  My mother stayed home to take care of my brother and I.  Bread was made fresh every day, we had an amazing sandbox to play in, lots of family and friends around us, there were fishing trips and many adventures to be had.  Yet for all of these things it was not a happy home.

I must confess my memories of my childhood are at best sketchy; they are by and large based on what I have been told but others who were there.  But on that day several life times ago the world spun on it’s axis thanks to the courage of an incredible woman, my mother.  I won’t bore you with the stories of violence that happened behind closed…

View original post 414 more words