Just a couple of quick, not particularly related things:

First, there’s this:

It’s a video response by Jay Smooth, in response to misogynist vandalism and bullying against Anita Sarkeesian of Feminist Frequency. It’s excellent.
I mean, it’s not saying anything we didn’t already know, but it’s said well and, while I’m not one for handing out Ally Cookies, I don’t see enough guys saying stuff like this (or this, for that matter), so I’m signal-boosting because, hey, using your privilege to say “Hey! People with the same privilege that I have! Doing this Thing is shitty, so let’s cut it out!” is actually a useful thing to do with your social capital.

So there’s that.

There’s also this:

Elizabeth May’s C-38 Omnibus Quiz.

This was an open-book quiz, offered by Green Party leader Elizabeth May, regarding the recently passed (fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck) “Omnibus Bill”.
The idea, as I understand it, was to see how many MPs – particularly the Conservative MPs who pushed the bill through its final reading – actually knew what the bill was proposing.
I think it’s telling that NO Conservative MPs showed up to take the quiz. I mean, yes, nobody wants to get something wrong. At the same time, it was an open book quiz and designed to make the bill clearer and easier to understand (the things was over 240 pages and changed over 70 laws, many of them environmental protection laws, under the guise of being a budget bill).

Eugh.

I didn’t want this bill to pass. It’s a sneaky piece of legislation that changes a huge number of laws without putting them through due process. I think it sets a really slimy president for parliament and what the government can sneak by us unchecked. 😦
I do not approve.

In more positive news: Toby’s Act gets Royal Assent today, meaning that it is now in effect. YAY! 😀

And that’s my short little post for today.

Cheers,
Ms Syren.